Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Shimano Cardiff 401 compared to Shimano Calcutta 201B  (Read 16208 times)

aaron600

Shimano Cardiff 401 compared to Shimano Calcutta 201B
« on: November 26, 2013, 05:28:15 PM »

So I'm very new to baitcasting reels, and have only had my first one (Shimano Cardiff 401) for about a month now. I recently received a Shimano calcutta 201B (Gold version) I purchased online, and it seems that the drag on the Cardiff is much stronger than the Calcutta. With the Calcutta I can completely tighten the star drag and still pull line out (With some effort) but if I tighten the star drag on the Cardiff down there is no way I can pull the line out like I can on the Cardiff. So, is this normal because of the reel size difference or is something wrong with the Calcutta? I have also noticed the cast control knob on the Calcutta 201 is quite stiff when turning compared the to the Cardiff.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 05:30:15 PM by aaron600 »

Spawn Sack

• Old Timer
Re: Shimano Cardiff 401 compared to Shimano Calcutta 201B
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2013, 12:43:33 AM »

Hmmm...strikes me as a bit odd. Is the Calcutta new? I would say take it out and fish it and be very careful not to ding it up, and if the drag is really sucking then return it (if possible). Even though the 201 is a smaller reel it should have a pretty solid drag. The Calcutta is one of the best baitcasters out there IMO it just sucks you can't get a 401 (only 400) or else I would have bought one long ago :o

Check online on Shimano's website and see what the drag rating is in lbs from the 201 to the 401. Say they are both 12 lbs, well then they should both feel pretty similar when you torque them down.