Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Thompson River, December 5th & 6th 2009: Another successful steelheading trip  (Read 6352 times)

fishingbuddha

• Fishingbuddha

headed up to the thompson to fish for some elusive thompson river steelhead. i have been fishing this river for many years and always enjoy getting buddies into their first steelhead. this trip was no different....ok no self hooked steelhead for the steelhead virgin buddies but.... very cold, slippery rocks, windy,...did i say very very cold, frozen fingers and faces, and at times extremely bad road conditions.
fished hard all day on saturday but had no luck. we hooked into many big rainbows but no steelies.
saw some spey fishermen along the river who were hooked into some fish but for our group of five guys, not one steelhead touched until the very last run. after a couple of buddies pass over an area i know holds steelhead, i made a few casts and bam...big steelhead. when fishing for these thompson river steelies, you don't always suspect that some of the light bites are large steelhead. when you set a hook thinking its a trout and a 18+ lber starts jumping it really gets your heart pumping. well this one was no different. light tug on the line followed by 6 leaps into the air and 6 minutes of hard fighting. (video footage for proof). the end result is a beautfiul large chrome thompson steelie doe. caught on a drift set up, large blue corkie with pink wool and a cocktail shrimp wrapped on the hook so that it doesn't come off (when i say wrapped i mean wrapped. when its that cold out you don't want to be consistently putting bait on your hook and exposing your fingers to the cold air!)
Here is the picture of the first steelhead i hooked.