Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fraser River Boat Launches  (Read 10946 times)

cglasgow

Fraser River Boat Launches
« on: October 01, 2015, 09:34:06 AM »

Over the last year iv been trying all the boat launches in.the lower mainland trying to find the one that works best for me, (proximity to home, dock to tie up to) and I have to say it's very frustrating and discouraging the lack of proper facilities for boaters on the fraser river, as a newbie I find it very intimidating to launch my boat in the morning with so many people waiting/watching. I find myself avoiding going out on the boat because I'm so nervous about bumping someone else's boat at the dock or make a mistake and embarrass myself at the ramp. The night before boating I stress about all the possible negative scenarios abd while I'm on the water I worry about the retrieval, almost all the launches have no where to park a truck and trailer. I'm wondering if anyone else feels the same, I realize my own anxiety issues are a factor here but I'm wondering if it's common and if others have gotten over their own fears/apprehensions. I tried to contact a local private club that has a launch, they informed me that the waiting list for club privileges is so long they don't even bother adding more names to it! What a sad unfortunate situation us boaters find ourselves in, I was perfectly willing to volunteer to help dock repairs or maintenance, and pay handsomely just for the privilege to launch and park. Not the clubs fault, just more of an issue with having a small handful of proper boat launches along 100km of river front, what can be done about this?? Am I the only one frustrated to this point can we band together to pressure municipalities, or am I overreacting and I just need to get more efficient and comfortable launching at the existing ramps, anyways thanks for reading my rant if you made it thi