Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fishing gear for Pink Salmon  (Read 7295 times)

smokedfish56

Fishing gear for Pink Salmon
« on: August 26, 2013, 12:39:34 AM »

Hi, I'm new to the Lower Fraser river Pink Salmon fishery and would like to get some education on the gear needed. I have a 8"6 medium- heavy spinning rod that I use to target springs, Coho and Chum on the Vedder. Is that too big or will that work? I'm not to concerned about taking the fun out of fighting the fish but will a rod like that even detect the little bites? I've got 6lb coho on that rod which is similar in size but I'm not to familiar with the aggression or strength or the Pink salmon. I'm fishing in Fort Langley if that helps...

Thanks  :)

Animal Chin

Re: Fishing gear for Pink Salmon
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 01:20:21 AM »

They're pretty aggressive. I don't think detecting bites is an issue. More a matter of how you can cast lures with the rod, and I'd say that's more an issue of line diameter. 8-12 lb line should be good.

If you're tossing out 2-2.5" buzz bombs it's not a problem, same with a 3/8 spoon...1/4 spoon or a spinner may not allow you to toss that far. Not sure about Fort Langely (never fished there) but pinks seem to swim close to shore anyway.

I'd say you're good.

fic

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2013, 07:07:22 AM »

That rod will work. It will be a little tiring for you to keep tossing it because of the length and weight.  Like the previous poster said tossing lighter lures is tougher.  You can give it a try and see how you feel about it.  Then go down to any store like Walmart, Canadian Tire, Army and Navy, or any tackle store and buy a cheap lighter rod and compare the difference.  I don't think you'll ever go back to your heavier rod for this type of fishery.

Jewelz

• I've got the bug
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2013, 08:42:51 AM »