Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: My new goal: Sturgeon  (Read 36417 times)

Funeral Of Hearts

My new goal: Sturgeon
« on: April 19, 2010, 12:55:08 PM »

Well i've decided to try sturgeon fishing for the first time this year. I have lived in the lower mainland most of my life and i've been fishing for many many years but this is the year. I've decided to try to catch a sturgeon. I have no boat so I am going to be doing it from shore. Im starting from scratch (no reel and no rod - my bar rod probably won't do).

My question is..

What would you suggest, a star or lever drag reel? I have searched the internet and it seems to be a preference thing although lever drags seem to be a little more complicated.

Verdi

Re: My new goal: Sturgeon
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 09:58:44 PM »

I have both and i perfer a star drag, but have no problems with a lever.  The lever is good for less experience fishermen as the drag is already set, and they cannot over tighten the drag, this is what most guide boats use.  The star you have to be more careful, as you don't have a easy visual of how much drag is set, as for a rod make sure you hang 24 oz from the tip and see how it feels in the store before you buy it..Some rods don't have enough backbone to throw that kind of weight.

I does not really make a diffence with a star or lever just get the one that feels right for you.

Penn 320 is a good choice for price.( i have 1) star drag
Shimano TLD 20 is a great reel ( I have 3) lever drag very popular sturgeon reel.
Shimano torium 30 (i have 1) lever drag.

Line recommendations 150 lb power pro..

Funeral Of Hearts

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 10:33:35 PM »

I neglected to mention that i reel left handed so a 321 would work, but not a 320. Not sure if the others come in a left hand retrieve, i'll have to look it up.

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2010, 04:28:13 PM »