Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: First River Rod....  (Read 11043 times)

CustomRetrieval

First River Rod....
« on: October 31, 2006, 01:09:52 AM »

Hello All;

Another newb here, to the both the forum and fishing the mighty (if it ever rains) river. Over the last year I have been bitten by the fishing bug, I've successfully worked the lakes, mainly spincasting with lures, and now I need to catch something bigger....
I am wondering if anybody has some suggestions/ideas about what to look for in my first river set-up.
I think that I am looking for something that is multi-purpose (coho, steelhead, sockeye...), affordable (I'm a poor student), and fun to fish.
Is my best bet a level-wind reel on a 10'6" medium action rod, seems pretty general to me?
Whats the deal with centre-pin?
I think that I am going to leave learning to fly-fish until I'm back on the lakes next summer. I guess that means drift-fishing is how I'll start, unless there is another way, perhaps?
Also, I've read a bunch of articles on the main site, they're great, they make me want try asap.

Thanks for any and all feedback;
CustomRetrieval

/too bad I missed the event organized by fisherforever; as I've only ever flossed the river before

« Last Edit: October 31, 2006, 01:13:22 AM by CustomRetrieval »

scruffy

• Old Timer
  • fish on
Re: First River Rod....
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2006, 02:17:23 AM »