Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Lines - Braided vs. Mono vs. ???  (Read 5771 times)

scouterjames

• Old Timer
Lines - Braided vs. Mono vs. ???
« on: October 18, 2006, 08:26:55 AM »

I'm going to spool a new reel and I'm flip flopping on what line to put on (bait cast for the Vedder).  Suggestions please?  The more advice the merrier!

Also - Rodney - an idea for another forum - TECHNIQUES.  I'm a newbie and searching thru reports and general discussion for techniques has been driving me nuts!  It's all great and interesting reading, but my head starts swimming reading all the different stuff... a board like Fishing Reports, but only for advising different techniques and hardware everyone uses (ie. shortfloating - that took me hours to find WHAT it was after reading about so many people using it).

ciao and thanks!
:-\ Tell me, and I might forget;
  :) Show me, and I might remember;
    ;D INVOLVE ME, and I'll learn.

dennisK

• Old Timer
  • sheep rise up.
Re: Lines - Braided vs. Mono vs. ???
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2006, 08:31:59 AM »

15 Pound Maxima Ultrgreen . 12/10 pound maxima ultragreen leader line, Use Monofilament braided line isnt a great ides with these low clear conditions

Why don't you like 20lb maxima for mainline Anthony?

dennyman

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2006, 08:35:37 AM »

If you have the time, this Saturday there will be that instructional session  on the Vedder River that has been organized  by Fisherforever. May want to view the threads on that topic to see if it is something you would be interested in attending.

Gooey

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2006, 08:54:12 AM »