Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: For the absolute newbie  (Read 8954 times)

lowlight

For the absolute newbie
« on: August 18, 2005, 06:24:19 PM »

I'd like to hit the Fraser for the first time, fishing for pink salmon. I have never fished for anything other than trout in lakes and rivers, and occasional jigging for cod when I was a kid.

Now I just started getting back into it, so my gear is limited. I have:

-A light rod with spinning reel. I think it will take up to 10 lbs test.

-Some trout lures and spoons. Lots of split shots and swivels.

-Fish whacker, to clobber the ones I keep.

-Small cooler to put the fish in to take home.

-90% empty tackle box.

So what are the MUST-HAVEs for fishing the fraser? Should I get a net to aid in retrieval? I was planning on following LV's advice on the croc spoons for lures, but what else should be tried? Should I not bother with 10 lb test and get a thicker rod and heavier line?

What am I missing here? Please help a newbie!

Thanks!

Straight Runner

Re: For the absolute newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2005, 10:26:01 PM »

I'd get some heavier line, and while you're at the tackle shop ask them...

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2005, 10:31:20 PM »

If you are just planning to fish for pinks a spinning rod with 10 lb. test is sufficient. In terms of lures, get yourself some small zzingers, buzz bombs or Rodney's spoons. At $2.50 each it's a steal.

TtotheE

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2005, 10:31:34 PM »

For the tidal portion of the Fraser,  that's all you'd really need.  10 lb test is plenty.  Landing a fish can be tricky at times with all those big rocks, so a landing net could help you from getting wet.  Rod peddles some spoons and spinners that seem to work well for the pinks.  :D

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod