Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: newb with a spinning rod  (Read 4352 times)

silicagel

newb with a spinning rod
« on: November 28, 2004, 01:19:17 AM »

Hi, I'm an amateur fisherman.

I'd love to learn to catch trout, any trout, consistently and effectively.  Unfortunately I know little about fishing except I was told that spinning is the way to begin.

Yesterday I checked out some local rivers and found that the water was high and the current was fairly strong because of this, and I couldn't cast without the current sucking up my lure no matter I tried.

Any suggestions on trout angling in streams this time of year?

Long_Cast

• Fish Smart
Re: newb with a spinning rod
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2004, 01:57:27 AM »

Right now, river fishing for trout with lures can be tough for beginners. The water in the rivers and streams are fast and high. You should try worms or powerbait instead of lures. Lake fishing is more ideal for beginner fisherman because you don't have to worry about strong currents.

Oliver

« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2004, 07:26:20 AM »

There used to be some info here  ::)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2005, 06:20:47 AM by LimitKiller »

Rieber

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2004, 06:14:38 PM »

First buy a steelhead tag then head out to the vedder in a month and a half with the standard pink worm set up. For your first year just use 6" pink worms set up under a float just high enough so you're not dredging the bottom and eventually you will get a steelhead this year. Just use the worm and watch other fishermen and where they cast. Cast to that type of water/seam and you'll get them. Don't let anyone else try and kid you. After you get some confidence, then start trying other baits. Worms are the easiest to use and catch them on - for the newbie.

DragonSpeed

• Old Timer
  • Less Computer Time - More fishing Time...yes YOU!