Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Pink salmon with 5wt  (Read 27691 times)

BananasQ

Pink salmon with 5wt
« on: April 08, 2015, 09:13:08 PM »

Hi, I'm very new to fly fishing - I've got a 9 foot 5wt set up. My question is, do you think I will be able to use this for beach / rock fishing for Pinks in Howe Sound this summer? I'd rather not have to buy a 6wt or 8wt - but I don't want to trash my 5wt. Thanks!
« Last Edit: April 08, 2015, 09:15:08 PM by BananasQ »

HOOK

• Old Timer
Re: Pink salmon with 5wt
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2015, 09:22:42 PM »

I used a 5wt Sage fly rod for many years off the beach at Furry creek for pink salmon. Make sure to practice your casting and get yourself to where you can comfortably cast the entire fly line because this could mean the difference between fish or nothing on some days. You may also find the wind blows directly at you making it even harder to get the line way out there.

Clear sink tip is also something you'll want to have and learn to cast with for the beaches. It only takes your fly down a couple inches but the fish see it better under the water rather than skimming in the surface film.

When tying or buying flies remember small, sparse, and shiny. Pink, chartreuse are usually best
Check out our new blog

http://funonthefly.blogspot.ca/

BananasQ

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2015, 07:34:44 AM »

Thanks - I'll probably splash on another spool with sink tip as I currently only have floating line. Any particular recommendations on the value side?  I have young kids and cant get out that often, so I am okay buying something that isn't "the best of the best" right now.  I'll be likely going to Sea Run to get my stuff.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2015, 07:43:21 AM by BananasQ »

flyrod

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2015, 08:30:37 AM »