Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Noob Fisherman Looking for help and tips  (Read 9868 times)

00owl

Noob Fisherman Looking for help and tips
« on: July 18, 2014, 11:08:36 AM »

Hey guys,

I'm new to the Fraser River Valley. I grew up fishing in Alberta's mountain lakes and streams with both fly and spoon. I want to learn how to catch salmon! But I must admit, big rivers like the Chilliwack River, or the Fraser are very intimidating to me and I don't even know what tackle I need let alone what sorts of bait/lures work best.

The other day I tried to go out near Yarrow and see what was there, I managed to lose 3 hooks on the bottom of the river and made many friends amongst the local mosquito population.

I'm at such a loss when it comes to fishing these areas that I do not even know what questions to ask. Any advice would be nice. If anyone is interested I'd also love to maybe meet up and go fishing one day.

Thanks,
Clayton

bigblockfox

• Old Timer
Re: Noob Fisherman Looking for help and tips
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2014, 11:18:30 AM »

welcome, once you catch your first salmon you will be hooked. this time of year is not easy on the vedder. high water and not as many fish in the system as October and November. don't get dis curaged and keep trying. their is tons of great info on this site. these two articles should give you some answers to the questions you ask.

http://www.fishingwithrod.com/articles/river_fishing/float_depth_adjustment_for_river_fishing.html

http://www.fishingwithrod.com/articles/river_fishing/short_floating_tactic_explained.html

00owl

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2014, 11:19:50 AM »

Is there anywhere that would constitute good fishing for this time of year? Or is it mostly all going to suffer from high water levels. I've heard that there is salmon fishing open in the tidal waters of Steveston, how is that?

bigblockfox

• Old Timer