Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: anyone fishing with jigs?  (Read 3667 times)

Xgolfman

• Old Timer
  • Wild rivers, wild fish
anyone fishing with jigs?
« on: November 11, 2005, 10:13:43 PM »

Hi guys, I'm a newbie, long time golfer as you can see by my name...have come back to fishing as a relief and break from my other passion...i like this site, i browse a few others but i keep coming back here so i thought I'd better join and brow beat you guys for your experience...i would like to know who is using jigs and what your success rate is with them? I've been talking to a guy that is a long time fisherman and has his own company, pretty interesting story but to cut to the chase he says that in many instances he finds jigs will out fish just about everything else including roe...I've ordered some from him and will let you know...it fascinates me as i for some reason seem to prefer this and spin and glo's and the odd spoons to bait...god i hate getting roe all over my conquest..just pisses me off no end...so there you have it, would appreciate your answers..

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: anyone fishing with jigs?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2005, 10:21:56 PM »

I tie my own jigs and have done reasonably well with them. The problem is getting good strong jig hooks.

Centerpin

• To Fish Or Not To Fish Such A Stupid Question
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2005, 10:29:53 PM »

I wii second FA complaint about stong jig hooks. I fished the last weekend on the Harrison trying to get some clean chum for the smoker and staightened or broke about a dozen jigs over the coarse of the day.

I did see that Hubs in Abbotsford has some jig heads that are on Gammi hooks and I will be giving them a try..
No Nookie Like Chinookie

Steelhawk

• Old Timer
  • Fish In Peace !
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2005, 02:45:57 AM »