Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: smoking salmon using a little chief  (Read 8567 times)

oddjob

• woof woof
smoking salmon using a little chief
« on: September 30, 2005, 12:37:27 PM »

how many pans of chips would you use ? and how many hours would you smoke it for ? iam smoking a 20lb white spring and this is my first time using the smoker need advice....

Floater

• Old Timer
Re: smoking salmon using a little chief
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2005, 01:21:57 PM »

Im also smoking up a 20 pound spring as a i post this. :P And wont you believe it same smoker too lol. I usualy go through about 1 pan an every 1 and a half hours and smoke for about 8 hours. I find you get a good ammount of smoke if you mix smaller wood chips near saw dust with bigger chunks.
[

oddjob

• woof woof
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2005, 01:54:45 PM »

hi floater  what flavor of chips are you using? i am using the hickery to give it more smoke flavor and to give it some color dark soy sauce with dill pickle seasoning to marinade .

Floater

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2005, 02:08:12 PM »

Im using hikery and some cherry chips. To marinate i just keep it simple salt and pepper and leave it for about 24 hours to marinate but soy souce is good to for salt substitution.
[

THE_ROE_SLINGER

• Old Timer
  • Roe Wizzard
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2005, 03:20:00 PM »

Just use 3 or so pans of chips changing 1.5 hours or so. You don't really need chips burning the entire smoke. I was smoking pink salmon for 10 hr and fininshing it off in the oven set at 300. Also, it is a good idea to cover the smoker in the box it came in otherwize it will take really long to smoke, especially for a big spring.
weeeeeeeeeow!

Floater

• Old Timer
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2005, 03:32:23 PM »