Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: did i get a good deal  (Read 3206 times)

ineedserioushelp

did i get a good deal
« on: September 15, 2005, 10:45:53 PM »

hello all i am fairly new to river fishing and i just bought a used rod reel from a garage sale .i am hoping i didnt pay to much. its a sage #b3106gsh it came with a beat up shimano calcutta 251 i paid 100$.i have the weekend off any advice where to go .be nice now

Big Steel

• Old Timer
  • Searching for early Steel.....
Re: did i get a good deal
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2005, 10:52:08 PM »

Seems like a good deal.  If the pole is in good shape and not beat up to much, then you will probably like it.  I have a Sage 3113 and I love it, especially for steelhead.  As for the real, I would go and get it serviced.  If it runs smooth then you will like it as well.
  So I would say that you got a good deal depending on the shape.  Best way to know for sure is to get out on the river and try it out.  If you like it then that is all that matters!!! :) :)
Fishing and Cars.... gotta love it!

Big Steel

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2005, 10:55:58 PM »

Also if you want to catch a fish, then go to the lower Veddar and you will probably catch a salmon or two.  Just go to Fred's Custom Tackle and ask some questions.  Always ask questions.  Most people out there are willing to help.  Also watch to see what other people are doing and mimick the ones that r catching the fish!!!!!!

ineedserioushelp

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2005, 10:59:41 PM »

::)thanks i think what i meant to say is what is the best use for this combo.big fish little fish ?salt water or rivers

Big Steel

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2005, 11:05:13 PM »