Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Beginner: need help on Salmon fishing  (Read 2771 times)

Sinaran

Beginner: need help on Salmon fishing
« on: July 31, 2005, 11:16:56 PM »

Yo guys, howdy!

I am a novice in fishing, i fish a lot and i usually couldn't catch anything spectagular, but i love this sport that i wouldn't give up on it easily! I would love to put on some great salmon fishing experience to my memory and the upcoming salmon season is the best chance for me to do that.  I have two sets of spinning and casting rods and reels for coarse fishing, i don't think that's enough even for pinks , right?  So if any of u guys here who could give me an idea of what kind of setups  i need , such as : rod, reel, line and bait/lure that i need to start with that would be great!  thanks a lot !
Fish on!!! woohoo..!!

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: Beginner: need help on Salmon fishing
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2005, 11:28:23 PM »

If you're targeting pinks, a spinning outfit would be perfect. Fill your reel with 8-10 lb. test and get some pink lures such as zzingers, buzz bombs or some of Rodney's spoons and you're set.

Sinaran

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2005, 11:35:50 PM »

thanks for the advice, man! yeah, that's what i need to know.  do u think i can use the same setup for sockeye?  those r the two species i am targetting ...  thanks again!
Fish on!!! woohoo..!!

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2005, 12:04:01 AM »

I assume you are bottom bouncing for sockeyes. If so, you will need a longer rod in the 10 1/2' range. While I have seen people use spinning reels, my preference is a level wind reel.

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2005, 01:01:57 AM »