Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Interesting indivuduals who take issue with buy/sell posts, especially pricing.  (Read 2821 times)

Ken D

I'd echo all the sidebar comments on one of the fly reel threads at buy-sell.  Looks like the thread got deleted by the mods.. fair enough.
The hidden intent of these types of posts is to portray private citizens as greed-mongers, not entitled to make any kind of money, must sell at a loss, on merchandise they either bought for re-sale, or want to move out of the way to subsidize the buy of more gear.  I enjoy a deal as much as the next guy, but by definition, a deal is a set of terms and prices agreed to by both parties, leaving everybody A-OK.

I got 'dissed' some as well, so I know the feeling.
I have a very nice Ambassadeur "retro" reel, made in Sweden. It's a champagne gold re-issue of the 5500C, commissioned by the Japanese market. They got many different reels re-done by Ambassadeur for resale over there. They are the "Nostalgia" series of reels.  On another board, the poster hinted I was selling something akin to a knockoff Rolex watch.... cloned in somebody's workshop in some far off pacific rim country, not a genuine Abu product.
So, I can certainly empathize with the feelings expressed by the starter of the thread.
One of the challenges in a so-called classless society.. some folks got no class...... ;D

« Last Edit: May 04, 2005, 01:29:51 PM by Ken D »

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod

Ken's refering to this thread if anyone is confused.

I didn't want to reply this until i had time to type something down properly, like now.