Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Capilano Jack Coho  (Read 2200 times)

fishingIsCool

• Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth!
Capilano Jack Coho
« on: June 07, 2022, 11:25:52 AM »

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to the Capilano, as I have only been there once and I caught nothing. I know that there is some smaller coho in there right now, and I was thinking about heading there this weekend to fish cable pool in the morning. I have a spinning rod, with 10lb braid and a few spoons and spinners. Just wondering if anyone had any tips for the capilano. Thanks!  :)

fishingIsCool

Re: Capilano Jack Coho
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2022, 02:54:01 PM »

Also, could you drift roe on a spinning rod?

Darko

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2022, 04:54:21 PM »

Also, could you drift roe on a spinning rod?
yes you can there is no bait ban now
if you ain't fishin, you ain't livin

Darko

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2022, 04:55:20 PM »

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to the Capilano, as I have only been there once and I caught nothing. I know that there is some smaller coho in there right now, and I was thinking about heading there this weekend to fish cable pool in the morning. I have a spinning rod, with 10lb braid and a few spoons and spinners. Just wondering if anyone had any tips for the capilano. Thanks!  :)

if you track the dam releases on the hydrograph fish tend to swim up the river then because the water level increases
if you ain't fishin, you ain't livin

clarki

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2022, 09:42:02 AM »

Hi there,

My first tip is get away from Cable Pool. Most people gravitate to it, but that's precisely why you shouldn't :) When I fished the Cap, most of my fishing was downstream of the #1. Refer to a trail map of the Capilano River Regional Park and strike out (safely!) on your own.