Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: first set up recommendation  (Read 3468 times)

paulj

first set up recommendation
« on: April 23, 2017, 04:54:46 PM »

can someone recommend which brand of rod and reel i should get for coho-pink setup.  im fairly new to fly fishing and will be doing both fresh and salt water fishing.  willing to spend around 700 for both .  its hard to choose which ones to get with so many choices.

should i get 7 or 8 weight?

thanks in advance. 

RalphH

• Old Timer
    • Initating Salmon Fry
Re: first set up recommendation
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2017, 08:15:26 PM »

Off hand and knowing you'll get other recommendations I'd say a #7 rod, perhaps a 10ft look at Echo Ion and Lamson Guru 3 HD2 with a spare spool - which should leave you $ for a line or 2 and leaders.

http://echoflyfishing.com/project/echoionxl/

http://www.waterworks-lamson.com/fly-reels/guru-hd-series-ii/
"Two things are infinite, the Universe and human stupidity... though I am not completely sure about the Universe" ...Einstein as related to F.S. Perls.

clarkii

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2017, 11:01:59 PM »

I'd get a 9'8#.  Allows you the opportunity to fish single hand steelhead and large streamers for bulls outside of the sparse flies coho hit, also gives you the ability to fish bonefish if you ever go to belize/hawaii/Florida etc
... In general it's a good all round stick for salt and freshwater.  Might be a tad heavy for pinks.

For rod brand you have several options,  an echo boost would do well with a lamson liquid 3 pack to complement.  (The size 3 I believe) Leaves some room for fly lines.

RalphH

• Old Timer
    • Initating Salmon Fry
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2017, 08:10:53 AM »