Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Newbie, How do you fish a lake?  (Read 4389 times)

BirdNester

Newbie, How do you fish a lake?
« on: July 21, 2004, 11:16:19 AM »

Since I am new to fishing and have only fished rivers, I have no idea how to catch fish in a lake. How do you do it? I am sure there are differences for different types of lakes, but in general, how do you do it?
I don't have a boat so I am thinking that I stand on the shore and cast as far as I can without a float and let er' sink. Maybe some shrimp on a small hook? Any info would be greatly appreciated.
RobertO

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re:Newbie, How do you fish a lake?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2004, 11:23:48 AM »

Concentrate on the points, shoals and creeks flowing into the lake.

BirdNester

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2004, 11:25:06 AM »

With what kind of a setup?
RobertO

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2004, 11:28:56 AM »

I assume you don't flyfish. In that case try using a float and some split shots. For bait try Power Bait, small worms, cooked shrimps. Alternatively, you can cast small spinners or spoons.

The Gilly

• Old Timer
  • Let equity be the rule of our actions
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2004, 04:46:34 PM »

Birdnester.  Take a fly casting or fly fishing course.  Pick up "Fly Fish the Trout Lakes" by Jack Shaw and "The Gilly".  Probably the best books for BC.  You'll need a flotation device to get away from shore in most interior lakes.  Good luck. :)

leadbelly

• Old Timer
  • Dont pitch it out, Pitch in!
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2004, 05:57:53 PM »