Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: What's the deal with indicator fishing?  (Read 5903 times)

swimmingwiththefishes

What's the deal with indicator fishing?
« on: December 04, 2015, 01:22:58 PM »

I'm new to fly fishing and still figuring this out... I'm curious what opinion those who have float fished a lot have of indicator fishing?

I'm debating whether this is worth getting into or just sticking a cpin on my switch and float fishing on the odd day that I want to fish this way. What is better about indicator fishing vs. float fishing with a cpin? Can you get into the casting more than with a cpin? Thoughts and opinions appreciated...

typhoon

• Old Timer
Re: What's the deal with indicator fishing?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2015, 01:49:54 PM »

Are you talking about river fishing or lake?
Fly fishing for steelhead with an indicator will always be less effective that float fishing for steelhead. You simply can't get a decent drag free drift with a fly rod, and you likely can't reach the same spots as you can with a float rod.
Fly fishing for trout with an indicator in a small river is fun because you can use much lighter tackle, much better suited to the target. You can also use a much lighter float so sensitivity is improved.
Fly fishing for trout with an indicator on a lake is extremely effective, especially in the spring. Chironomid pupae don't move very fast so a static presentation is best. Spin fishers often imitate that style but with reduced sensitivity.

Sandman

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2015, 06:50:57 PM »