Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Questions about Roe Sacks for Steelhead  (Read 8082 times)

PinFishin

Questions about Roe Sacks for Steelhead
« on: November 16, 2014, 10:55:04 PM »

This is my first year of fishing. I have never caught or fished for a steelhead. I have some questions about the presentation I plan on using.

Setup : Centerpin with 11.3' drift rod
Rivers : Little Campbell and Vedder (and literally anywhere else I figure I can catch something. I am so addicted)

So I have fresh chum single eggs. I purchased the liquid uv cure on pink. I also purchased roe bags in pink. I am planning on 5 eggs on a bag with a dab of either red/white/pink wool depending on water conditions.

Am I on the right track here? Am I wasting my time? Had anyone floated a jig with row bags on it? Would I be better off just trying that?

What size hooks should I be using? I have fished 1/0 and 1s exclusively for springs, coho, and chums but those have all been jigs and spinners, never a roe presentation.

I look forward to your responses.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: Questions about Roe Sacks for Steelhead
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 11:36:28 PM »

I tie the roe sacs with just single eggs. If I want a little additional colour  I tie a piece of yarn on the bait loop.

PinFishin

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2014, 12:00:45 AM »

I guess I was not clear. The wool was to go in the bait loop. As for single eggs, do you mean 1 egg per bag? Wouldn't it be easier to use no bag for that?

If you meant loose eggs than yes that vid in fact what I am using.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2014, 12:05:32 AM »

I guess I was not clear. The wool was to go in the bait loop. As for single eggs, do you mean 1 egg per bag? Wouldn't it be easier to use no bag for that?

If you meant loose eggs than yes that vid in fact what I am using.