Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Squamish Water condition  (Read 3541 times)

tburns

Squamish Water condition
« on: November 13, 2013, 01:18:44 PM »

Hey everyone.

Mulling over heading to Squamish tomorrow to try to seek out some coho.  I went out yesterday but was slightly discouraged at the lack of bites due to the poor water clarity (0.5 foot to 1 foot visibility). 

I'm pretty new to river fishing; do you think clarity will be as poor for tomorrow?  Seems like the forecast is for ~5mm of rain.

Thanks for all the help.  If any of you can teach me about what to expect for rains effect on water clarity it would be greatly appreciated.

living_blind

• My Band - Kilmore Place
Re: Squamish Water condition
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2013, 09:46:33 AM »

I think clarity will improve slightly but you wont notice a dramatic difference.

Knnn

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2013, 11:22:23 PM »

If you get a chance go now.  Water clarity is very good at about 3-4 ft. There are still fresh Coho to be had.  Three caught to jigs today, one a beauty hatchery at ~12lbs, silver with sea lice (I was astonished).

PS sorry I just realized I mentioned jigs in a fly fishing forum.  I'm a fly fisherman at heart, honest, just wanted to send out some encouragement that it was still worth a crack.  Saw a fly guy land 3 coho last weekend.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2013, 11:25:35 PM by Knnn »

tburns

« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2013, 01:08:27 PM »

Will be heading out tomorrow.  That sounds great!  Were you fishing the lower or upper squamish?

Knnn

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2013, 03:25:20 PM »

Judd Road.

Let us know how it goes.  Have fun and good luck.

tburns

« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2013, 07:51:11 PM »

Great spots up there.  Will let you know tomorrow.  Cheers

tburns

« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2013, 09:16:30 PM »