Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Made the switch from Spinning reel to Baitcaster  (Read 9242 times)

aaron600

Made the switch from Spinning reel to Baitcaster
« on: November 10, 2013, 04:31:31 PM »

So let me begin by saying this is my first year Salmon fishing and it has been going very well so far. I had used spinning reels my whole life for trout and am very familiar/comfortable with them. I decided to use my bigger saltwater reels for drift fishing roe. It wasn't until Saturday at the Vedder river, approx(7am) when I decided I need to drop the Spinning reel and get either a Bait caster or Center Pin reel. Got to the Vedder nice and early, and my float dunked under 3 times (Roe), there should have been more than enough time to set the hook, if I didn't have so much slack line from my vast amounts line memory/line in and under the water using the spinning reel I so fondly used in the past. 1 more hour goes by and I have 3 salmon on for only 15 seconds because my hook set was so weak due to the line slack produced from the many problems with using a spinning outfit. The 3 guys just to the left of me had the same amount of chances at catching Salmon but the difference is they landed all of them with there Baitcasters. Long story short I decided to stop by Army Navy today and decide if I wanted a center pin or Baitcaster . I was steered towards baitcaster, and asked for something that wasn't going to break the bank but I wouldn't have to replace after a year. I was given the Shimano Cardiff 401a with a fenwick baitcasting rod 11'. Took it up to como lake today to practice my casts for a few hours. Only 2 birds nests out of 2 hours seems ok to me. Time to test it out on the Vedder tomorrow. I can already see what a difference it will make drift fishing compared to my spinning reels. No line dragging in the water and faster stronger hook sets.  I should have