Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: i wanna build my own rod but.......  (Read 4181 times)

brad7

i wanna build my own rod but.......
« on: February 21, 2013, 07:31:35 PM »

I wanna build my own rod for the satisfaction of having a rod that I built with my own two hands, but I have zero experience building rods. I'm a mechanic by trade so I'm used too working with my hands. Any advice or thoughts? I wanna make a  steelhead pin rod. Maybe a sage 3106 blank?

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: i wanna build my own rod but.......
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2013, 11:02:29 PM »

Not overly difficult. However, I would suggest you try building a spinning rod to get some experience before tackling a Sage.

Dave

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2013, 08:19:16 AM »

There are tons of instructional videos out there to help you along but I second the above advice to practice on an old junker rod (tramp, according to Ken D ;)) first.  If you don't have one, go to your favourite tackle store and ask for a broken section to begin with.
There are many good builders on this site who I'm sure will assist with any questions or problems you have.  My guess is once you have built one, you will want to build another :)

Ken D

« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2013, 10:58:13 PM »

Hi, Brad....Rodwork is loads of fun, satisfying, and rewarding. Those are the good things.  One of the the things rendered nugatory would be running before walking, then tripping, possibly being disappointed with the result, by jumping right in, on ~the~ project rod.

If you can locate a tramp rod at a jumble sale, or a beater from your own collection, you can work on those by guide removal and then re-spacing the additional new guides to get the feel for threadwork.