Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: #5 Vibrax spinners  (Read 6661 times)

noobfisher

#5 Vibrax spinners
« on: October 23, 2012, 08:06:53 PM »

Do you guys put any weight onto the line when tossing #5 Vibrax spinners for systems like the Vedder and Fraser?

firstlight

• Old Timer
  • I'm a llama!
Re: #5 Vibrax spinners
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 08:21:33 PM »

Only time i add weight is if i really need it in order to cast.
Otherwise just a swivel 4 ft  up from spinner.
I guess if you were fishing deeper water but i mainly fish slow moving shallow water for them and works for me.

noobfisher

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2012, 08:29:49 PM »

Thanks, any reason for the swivel 4 feet from the spinner? I've always attached a swivel directly to the line and the spinner to the swivel at the end of the line, but I'm also a fishing newbie :)

leadbelly

• Old Timer
  • Dont pitch it out, Pitch in!
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2012, 08:40:02 PM »

Firstlight is bang on, you dont need to add any extra weight.It will help your gear sink and get snagged and may affect the motion of the lure as well.
If i want to cast a long long way with my spinning outfit I will put on something heavy like a crok spoon.
If Im using Blue Foxes Ill go from a 2 to a 4 depending in depth and clarity, the bigger the spinner the faster it will sink and get snagged on bottom.
I use a two to three foot leader attached with a swivel, this allows me to use lighter line on my leader and replace line that may be damaged by fish or something else, and the extra swivel works against line twist.

noobfisher

« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2012, 08:43:21 PM »

Thanks for the tips!

SteelheadAdict

« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2012, 08:44:27 PM »