Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Can you bring a kid to Chehalis River for fishing?  (Read 4698 times)

CastCatch

Can you bring a kid to Chehalis River for fishing?
« on: November 07, 2011, 11:21:25 PM »

My son’s school has a pro day the coming Thursday. I will take a day off and bring him to do some fishing. Thinking about targeting coho, for which I have never done before. From reading the posts on this site it seems only Chehalis River has some coho opportunities at this time. I have never been to that river.  So my question is, is it safe to bring a 6-year-old kid there, can I find a place that hike less than 20 minutes safely and possibly catch one coho. Is it worth going at all?

Since the drive takes more than three hours in return, I will search for some opinions before I go. Thanks!

TheChumWhisperer

Re: Can you bring a kid to Chehalis River for fishing?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2011, 02:02:42 AM »

Not a good idea ...

farky

« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2011, 06:04:33 AM »

Although i have never been, i have heard that the terrain on the chehalis would be less than favorable. Maybe you should give the mid or upper vedder a try.... although it is late in the run there are still a few clean fish to be had .Also there are lots of spots with lots of beach for him to explore with relative safety.

Stuart Dickinson

« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2011, 06:48:41 AM »

Above the bridge, absolutely not.  If you park at the campsite by the bridge and walk down the Western side, there is plenty of fishable water within 20 minutes walk that is relatively safe, no more dangerous than any other Lower Mainland river IMHO.

Geff_t

• Old Timer
  • Cork floats hand made by myself
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2011, 07:01:25 AM »