Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How to release a steelhead  (Read 3008 times)

Kenwee

How to release a steelhead
« on: January 12, 2011, 09:06:34 AM »

I am a newbie, tho I have had lots of experience deep sea fishing in the tropics my river experience is still at the novice stage. I am told that when releasing a steelhead it is best to move the fish forward in the water, lift him out and move him forward again till he recovers. It is not good to move him forward and backwards as doing so could drown the fish, the backward motion could prevent the oxygen flow and could be fatal.

I will appreciate any advice on fish release as this will ensure that newbies like me can learn good release methods and keep our fisheries healthy. Many thanks guys!!!

Spoonman

• Chehalis Canyon Vigilante
Re: How to release a steelhead
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2011, 10:39:30 AM »

Definately unsound info in that.Lifting the fish out of water repeatedly would cause more stress than any back and forth motion.Oxygen will be absorbed by the gills independant of direction of water flow.Having said that, a back and forth motion would only be needed for a very exhausted fish.Best to just hold the fish lightly by the tail wrist till it swims away.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2011, 04:48:25 PM by Spoonman »
member; Jack Daniels Pro-Staff / member;Team Hardcore Old Fart

Kenwee

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2011, 03:55:27 PM »

This is an article by Sidney Snow on how to release a steelhead. Found this on the Internet. In his last 3 paragraphs, he advises that a fish should not be moved forth and back. Could readers please give more information on the release method which will not harm the fish. Many thanks!!

The Release
by Sidney Snow