Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Matching Rod for Sage 1880 Reel  (Read 7519 times)

azafai

Matching Rod for Sage 1880 Reel
« on: November 12, 2010, 06:09:58 PM »

Hi all
I got it.  I don't know what rod should I pick up.  I like to stay more on the budget side but don't like to go too cheap either if I have to.
looking for using it for river salmon fishing.  I am a complete novice in this.
thanks.
https://www.flyfishingoutfitters.com/sage/s/viewitem.aspx?pid=rls-sag-1800-880
« Last Edit: November 12, 2010, 06:17:07 PM by azafai »

HOOK

• Old Timer
Re: Matching Rod for Sage 1880 Reel
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 03:21:50 PM »

have a look at an 8wt in one of these brands which will fall around $300 or less

Echo - 9foot or 10foot
Dragonfly
Temple Fork Outfitters
Amundson Wind Warrior series (i mention the series because this is Amundson's only series with lifetime warranty)

Im sure there are more lower end name brands but these would be your best bets to find locally
Check out our new blog

http://funonthefly.blogspot.ca/

azafai

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 09:42:21 AM »

Thank you Hook,
I appreciate it.

Banny

« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 10:06:14 AM »

Look for something with a decent fast action to make throwing tips easier.

For middle of the road rods price wise these are all good choices
Amundson Wind Warrior
Echo 2 freshwater
Scott A3
Sage Flight
St. Croix Legend Ultra
Beulah guide series

I have not tossed a wind warrior 8 weight but have a 6 weight rod I use for stillwater fishing and they are top notch for the price you pay.  Another added benefit is that Amundson warranty service is superb and local.   I personally use a Legend Ultra 8 weight and would recommended it to anyone.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2010, 01:39:29 PM by Banny »

HOOK

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 11:39:38 AM »