Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: What is the future of the fresh water salmon SPORTS fishery in BC?  (Read 7589 times)

Gooey

• Old Timer

I took a couple of walks on the capilano this weekend and was saddened to see the display there. 

I got into a verbale altercation when I asked a guy if the bait ban was still in effect.  He and his buddy were using roe in the cable pool saturday mid day and was absolutely abnoxious when I asked him if it was still in effect.  His buddy Dave said he wasn't planning on keeping any fish...I guess you can decide when you want to follow the rules now?

On sunday, I watched a guy reefing at the end of each drift.  He snagged a fish in the belly, pulled it up out of the water, grabbed it by the gills...when I asked him if he intended to keep it, he gave me some F bombs thrown in with "I've been fishing this river for 40 years"....then why do you yank at the end of each drift...surely you must know thats why you are snagging fish. 

Went to the foot bridge at the cable pool and saw 3 guys on that rock below.  their floats were set so deep they lay on they sides.  They would cast out to the far end of the pool then jig (5 foot sweeps) there gear back in, and thats another thing, most people are fishing 4-6 foot leaders.  14 "fishers" visible from the cable pool, many doing the reef and jerk float fishing method.

To see our fishery across so many rivers be totally degraded and bastardized by flossing and snagging is absolutlely sickening for me personally.  I am not sure what can be done....better regs, better enforcement, shutting down the fraser to flossing, leader length restrictions, higher annualized licence fees?  Any other pratical ideas that could help the lower mainland's fresh water salmon fishers treat the resource with a little more care and respect?