Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Question regarding Bait  (Read 2068 times)

Sinaran

Question regarding Bait
« on: October 17, 2008, 09:28:34 AM »

I have recently cured some chum roes, and i found the finished products a little hard and not smelly enough.
The way i cured it was,  bled the fish, cleaned the roe and kept it away from water.  Drained it for 10 hours or so, then added on the paultke procure Red, shook them well in a zip ploc bag, put it in the refrigerator overnight, the next day, I covered them with borax. 
Am i missing anything there? i am pretty new in this, and i don't want to waste any roe at all. 
Another question is, when the fish attack the roe, do they get attracted by the scent or the roe itself?  or both? 
thanks for any input!!   :P
Fish on!!! woohoo..!!

Chromie

Re: Question regarding Bait
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2008, 11:15:13 AM »

I would just go out and try it ..... if it works thats great ...... fish go for both the look and the scent of roe.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2008, 11:45:39 AM »

You dried them too long if they are a bit hard. They should still work.

hotrod

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2008, 01:52:19 PM »

Both!

HR

BigFisher

• Old Timer
  • Bite My Hook
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2008, 02:00:34 PM »

some people say youll only catch fish with good roe, Iv seen on 2 occasions were cupcakes roe has done the trick.
The Bigger The Better!

Spoonman

• Chehalis Canyon Vigilante
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2008, 04:38:32 PM »

I have recently cured some chum roes, and i found the finished products a little hard and not smelly enough.