Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: baitcasting reel techniques...  (Read 5052 times)

slamman190

• here fishy fishy fishy...
    • Dan's Blog
baitcasting reel techniques...
« on: March 28, 2007, 10:50:12 PM »

I am a novice fisherman, and I will be the first to admit it.  So tonight I was out at mill lake more for practice than fishing.  I was using a quantam baitcasting reel for the first time, and man that takes some getting used to.  I think I did more untangling than casting :D  Up till now I have just been using a spinning reel.

I tried using my thumb to stop the line, as well as using the crank.  Is there a preferred method, cause either way I had mixed results... 

Are there any good tips out there as to how to get consistent casts, or is it something that just takes a lot of practice?

For some reason, I seem to think I may have a few more rats nests in my future     ;D

Sam Salmon

• Old Timer
Re: baitcasting reel techniques...
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 11:05:14 PM »

First thing-there's a spool control button/cast control on the side of the reel-holding the rod up with your lure attached and the thumbar depressed adjust the button/cast control until the lure just falls slowly to ground.

Now when you cast use your thumb not as a brake at the end of the cast  but to 'feather' the line as it comes off the spool-you should be just grazing the spool as it spins (until you get a lot better anyway).

By using your thumb to slow the cast down some before the lure hits the water you'll eliminate some of the probs you're having.

Eagleye

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2007, 12:11:15 AM »