Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Dream coming true!  (Read 3003 times)

bigguy

• Old Timer
  • what?? You want me to GET OUT and go fishing?
Dream coming true!
« on: November 15, 2006, 11:28:56 PM »

Since visiting and fishing the Port Renfrew area several years ago my dream was to one day own property there and start spending time there each year fishing and exploring!  Well part one of the dream is completed as I have purchased property! :D  HOORAY!  Now the fishing part!!   Maybe all you guys (gals) can give me input into what I need to invest in as far as boat, motor, gear etc.  Should be fun reading your ideas.  I know a lot of you have had experience out there so please help me out!  I am basically a salt water newbie!  Only boat I have now is a 10 ft. lake boat! Go for it!  Would my river outfits be ok as a starter set.  Want to eventually go out for halis!  Now I am not rich so will be doing this a bit at a time! ???

troutbreath

• Old Timer
  • I does Christy
Re: Dream coming true!
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2006, 11:47:20 PM »

I'd buy something that would be good for fast movement to the fishing ground in good weather and fair sea's. Unless like fishing the heavy winds and rough sea's. You'll have a lot of the latter. 8)
another SLICE of dirty fish perhaps?

bigguy

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2006, 11:58:24 PM »

Thanks, best area is 10 minutes from wharf!  Unless I head for halibut which will be in a few years!  Hopefully will be able to get larger boat then!

troutbreath

• Old Timer
  • I does Christy
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2006, 12:07:02 AM »