Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: recipe's for roe  (Read 2639 times)

scruffy

• Old Timer
  • fish on
recipe's for roe
« on: August 26, 2006, 09:03:28 PM »

just trying to see how many ways roe can be cured as I'm still new to the whole curing thing tired of buying it when i have roe to cure any help who be great  :)

DionJL

• Old Timer
Re: recipe's for roe
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2006, 09:30:37 PM »

Buy yourself 2 boxes of Borax from safeway, 1 box Rock Salt, and a few colours of ProCure.

I borax most of my roe. If you have a bunch of skeins (5+), what i do is get a bucket, and pour in a bunch of borax. After drying the roe for a few hours (depending on humidity). Dry the roe till it is slightly sticky to touch. Then toss each skein into the bucket (individually) and shake it around gently. Work the borax into the folds of each skein. Remove the skein and place it in a small ziplock bag. Put in a little bit more fresh borax and dust the entire skein. then remove air and seal. Continue with the next skein.

If you want to add colour, add 1-3 table spoons of ProCure before putting the skeins in the borax. Mix well in the bucked. I like to add fresh garlic for coho season. Seems to be a killer scent.

If you get a hold of single eggs create a saturated solution with the rock salt (pour in rock salt untill it wont dissolve any more). Add a table spoon of ProCure if you want to change the colour.

Pretty much all you need to cure roe.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2006, 09:44:26 PM »

There are as many ways to cure roe as there are fish in the sea. (maybe not that much  ;D) The simplest method is borax and Pro Cure. I just cure a batch of sockeye roe last weekend with Pro Cure. Awesome looking roe.

cohokid

• Old Timer
  • 28 landed- 11 lost
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2006, 10:41:18 PM »