Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Center pin fishing  (Read 9043 times)

dave c

Center pin fishing
« on: December 25, 2012, 01:21:11 PM »

With Steelhead season upon us looking forward to trying out my new centerpin rig.  As I am new to pinning I have a question regarding casting.  I've watched Rod's video on spring steelhead and it looks as though he just does the same type of cast as one would with a baitcaster, yet on the internet i've seen many videos where guys use a technique called the Wallis cast.  They claim that not doing this type of cast results in twisting of the line.  Any thoughts?  P.S.  Good luck to all you guys fishing in the Boxing Day Tourney.....don't worry I won't be getting in your way.  I'll be fishing Norrish tomorrow just to get used to the rig and hopefully I'll have a couple of hookups of coho just to get a feel for the rod.  Thanks guys and Merry Christmas to all you fishing buddies!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: Center pin fishing
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2012, 01:40:19 PM »

I use the same cast as Rodney. Seems to me that the Wallis cast is for fishing spots that don't have much back space to cast.

Noahs Arc

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2012, 01:47:43 PM »

The wallis is good for tight spots with no room for back cast. Takes alot of practice to become decent at it but there's few places I use this cast. As for line twist, that is completely false as far as I'm concerned.
Cast sort of the same motion as a levelwind but less flick and let the spool startup on your back cast.
Long soft rods are great for this type of cast because the rod itself will load up and get the reel going.
I noticed a huge difference going from a moderate fast action on a 10' gl2 to my 3113lb on ease of casting.