Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: best method for beginners to get sockeye quotas  (Read 6559 times)

andrew5

best method for beginners to get sockeye quotas
« on: August 25, 2010, 12:53:39 PM »

Hi All,

prior to this Samsmon season, I have stuck to fishing fro trout withthe spin caster, but primarily using the fly rod. This is my first attempt at salmon on the river. I am curious to see what the concensus best method for catching sockeye would be.

I would consider myself a beginner/novice angler. I will be fishing off the bars up and around chilliwack, but am willing to go anyhere. I actually live right on the river in New West.

Question: How do i give myself the best shot at being successful at this fishery?

Bouncing betties? I still don't entirely understand that process...

Float fishing

Bar fishing?

Thanks in advance guys - I have always found that this forum provides some great insight from some extremely knowledgable guys. Hope everyone is enjoying the kick off to this promising season!

Andrew

andrew5

Re: best method for beginners to get sockeye quotas
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 12:54:46 PM »

Oh, and before someone suggests going to the docks in Steveston (I do love that place though), I am more interested in learning to salmon fish for the long run than merely putting some meat in the freezer.

alwaysfishn

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 01:00:11 PM »

Go to a salmon bar and watch and ask questions. There are a lot of helpful folks around that will be willing to show you how.  :)
Disclosure:  This post has not been approved by the feedlot boys, therefore will likely be found to contain errors and statements that are out of context. :-[

fishseeker

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 01:15:37 PM »