Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Do you remember your first steelhead?  (Read 7041 times)

steelieman

• Fish On!!!!
Do you remember your first steelhead?
« on: February 20, 2007, 09:30:01 PM »

I took a week off to go steelheading but it looks like the water condition is not the greatest now. Hopefully, it gets better. Weather report calls for more rain and wind though!!! :(

Watching the Canucks game and surfing for fishing reports. It doesn't look like much is happening so I thought what better then to come up with an interesting post.

I had my taste of connecting with my first steelhead in the year 1992. My buddy got me into fishing for cohos 3 years before that and normally, I would just stop around November. As a newbie, I would fish the Limit Hole around the cement block for cohos. During those days, I was taught to look, pull your rod back and hook a fish. I soon learned that it was not much fun hooking a fish in different parts of its body other then the mouth. I learned the art of curing roe and soon was hooking them properly.

1992- I decided that it was time to jump up to the big league so to speak. As usual, the Cement Block was my choice. As I live in Maple Ridge, I got information from Tom ( a local tackle shop )who taught me what to use- #4 gammy hooks and pink wool was supposed to be the killer bait. I remembered that it was really cold that morning as my buddy Markus and I made the trek up my favourite hole- The Cement Block :D