Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Short-floating or Snagging?  (Read 8281 times)

Kjle

Short-floating or Snagging?
« on: October 20, 2012, 02:39:14 PM »

Hey everyone, this is my first post here, though I've been observing for a while. That being said, I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm Kyle, I've been fishing for a few years but only started doing it seriously in the last two. So, I'm trying to take every opportunity to learn how to fish, while being respectful to the river and the people who fish it.

So I have a question, and I'd like to get the professional opinion of some of you who have a lot more experience.

Today I went to fish the Stave in hopes of scoring some clean female chums and some nice roe. I started off just fishing wool and was fishing a 6 ft deep slow-moving section. I had about 2 ft from my float to my weight, and about 1 foot from my weight to my hook with wool on. I hooked into about 15-20 in 3 hours and brought about 10 in. 1 was snagged in the back, another was in the side of the head. Both of which I carefully and promptly released. Every other fish was clearly a bite in the back of the throat or the tongue or tip of the jaw.

A certain individual began to rudely give me heck about snagging all these fish. I could not understand his logic. He argued my float to weight distance was too long and that's why I snagged fish. I had no intentions of doing so. If I really wanted to, I would throw a bouncing betty on and dredge the bottom like the crowds do.

Was this guy (read: know-it-all) correct? Was my setup rigged in such a way that would cause me to snag a lot of fish?

CohoMan

• Old Timer
Re: Short-floating or Snagging?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 03:20:00 PM »

I think you have the right depth and right size leader.