Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: 12 ft aluminum boat and 9.9 hp in the Fraser?  (Read 6123 times)

Humpy

12 ft aluminum boat and 9.9 hp in the Fraser?
« on: August 09, 2014, 10:56:59 AM »

Looking for advice from people that have done this, I have done it before and know of many people that do it.
I have a 12 ft aluminum boat and 9.9 hp motor, I have taken it out around the Agassiz area without any trouble.
Thinking about taking it around the Chilliwack area, how does that area compare? I know Gill road is a good area to launch and there isn't too much current, or even island 22. There are some islands around that I would like to get to. What to look out for? What to take with me, other then the obvious, life jackets, spare prop? And if somebody knows of a boat accessible spot, I would appreciate it. I'm fairly new to river boating. Thanks.
Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.

Rieber

• Old Timer
Re: 12 ft aluminum boat and 9.9 hp in the Fraser?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 07:23:13 PM »

I used to run a 12' tinny with an 8hp 4-stroke and 500#'s of man beef up river to Grassy. Effective but not fast. I wouldn't dare run up Pegleg in mid to late August - it would be too swift. You might make it thru then but too slow making it too dangerous from idiots bombing 4oz betties at you.

I currently run a 1440 jon with an old 9.9 2-stroke from Island 22 to Grassy bar and back. It works for me and I've seen several others in 12' tinnies.

What you have used to be the standard - the biggest thing you have to worry about are the bigger boats that pass by you far too close and their wake hits you before you have time to react accordingly.