Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fly fishing on whonnock lake  (Read 12432 times)

k.c.

• A bad day fishing beats a good day working
    • west coast bass anglers
Fly fishing on whonnock lake
« on: March 29, 2009, 06:51:12 PM »

I am new to fly fishing and i went to whonnock lake today, man what a day. Eagles flying over top, nice and quiet, a lot of action on the lake. I didn't catch anything but had some strikes what a rush ( i have to get my timing better on the hook set) but i think it is safe to say i am hooked on fly fishing and can't wait till the next time and the next lake i go to. If anyone has any tips to give me it would be great. ;D 
Thanks in advance

newsman

• Old Timer
  • Dude what's a llama?
Re: Fly fishing on whonnock lake
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2009, 07:15:47 PM »

At this time of year fish can be very sluggish due to the cold water. Being cold blooded their whole metabolism is lowed down, which also means they can be slow at closing their mouth. Under these conditions it is best to let fish start swimming away with your fly before you attempt to set the hook, otherwise you can full the fly right out of their mouth.
Till the next time, "keep your fly in the water!"

Funeral Of Hearts

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2009, 08:50:11 PM »

I have always had a lot fo luck on Whonnock with a red Doc Spratley fly. I find a nice quiet location on the lake and cast to the rising fish. I was there last week and caught a ton of fish that way. There was a great hatch goin on there at the time too, LOTS of little flies (midges if Im not mistaken).
Newsman is right though, you have to be patient, retrieve slow and don't be too hasty on the hook set at this time of year. Let them clamp down on it first. Things will be different when the weather turns warmer, its a fairly shallow lake.

newsman

• Old Timer
  • Dude what's a llama?