Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Pin question  (Read 7731 times)

brad7

Pin question
« on: November 30, 2012, 06:42:22 PM »

So this is my first year with the pin, and I got a few fish under my belt. But I can't figure out if I'm suppose throw my clicker on when I get into a fish or not, all the fish I ve played I have done it in free spool. But I was watching sports fishing bc ( or wut ever the hell it's called now) and I saw those guys throw the clicker on. So is it just personal preference or something else?

Johnny Canuck

• Old Timer
Re: Pin question
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2012, 06:51:17 PM »

The clicker is designed to keep the reel from free spooling while hiking or storing the setup. The people who throw the clicker on just are just trying to be cool or are all like, "Look at me I have a fish on"
Common sense is so rare it should be considered a superpower.

Jewelz

• I've got the bug
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2012, 08:07:06 PM »

I click mine on when I'm about to land the fish, this is only so it doesn't nest up on me... I think I would get annoyed if I heard the clicker every time the fish went for a run!  ;D
Peace. One. Jewelz.
"Who knew that fishing was this addicting..."

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2012, 08:09:10 PM »

The clicker is designed to keep the reel from free spooling while hiking or storing the setup. The people who throw the clicker on just are just trying to be cool or are all like, "Look at me I have a fish on"

Ditto

azafai

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2012, 08:09:50 PM »

I think it is just a bit saver to put the clicker/drag on and by that prevent any possible accidental tangling or excessive free spooling.

Carich980

« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2012, 08:28:10 PM »

I thought the point of center pin was to match you against the fish.

Brian the fisherman