Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: bc in the end of september  (Read 8379 times)

fiskekongen

bc in the end of september
« on: April 20, 2008, 08:00:33 AM »

hey all you diehard flyfishers! i am from denmark, and i am new here. my friends and i, are going to BC in late september, for some salmonfishing, probably in vedder, Harrison, and Frasier, (if other rivers close to are better, then let my know.)
this is my first time fishing for pacific salmon, so i need some advice, if you would be so kind.

there are countless of flypatterns, and i cant tye them all! if some of you profs can give my 4 or 5 different patterns, for coho, chinook, and chum, i would be thankfull!!, and maybe size of the hook, and how to fish them. have been looking at different pages at the internet, but i just cant choose, or narrow down the patterns, so please a little help, from you guys.

thank you. :o

ffonly

• the truth is out there...
Re: bc in the end of september
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2008, 09:47:51 AM »

For Coho I generally stick to smaller minnow/streamer style patterns like the popular Bead Head Rolled Muddler (Silver/Olive/Blue) or bucktail streamers like the Mickey Finn. Generally my Coho flies are in the 8 - 2 size range.

http://www.salmonflytying.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/10/bead-head-rolled-muddler.jpg
http://www.maineflyfish.com/flytying/mickey_finn/mickey_finn.jpg

The First 4 Flies on this page are also great flies for Coho in BC.

http://www.flyfishingbritishcolumbia.com/flies.html

Of Course an Olive/Brown/Black or even flashier estaz woolly buggers all work great too.