Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Chum Salmon Closure and how the Commercial Chum Fishery has affected things.  (Read 4816 times)

Darko

• Old Timer

Hello everybody, this is my first year fishing for salmon and naturally, I was very excited to get an opportunity to catch my first chum salmon this fall as I heard about what amazing fighters they are. Sadly though now it looks like with the return not even enough to reach escapement that even C&R is not allowed. This brings a couple of questions in my mind. Wasn't chum historically one of the most abundant salmon species? How have we reached a point now that they are so scarce? Also why was there a commercial net fishery allowed in the FRASER for chum when vulnerable steelhead runs are returning in the same time frame? Who knows what happened with all the bycatch trout and other species that were caught. Can we really trust they were handled carefully and survived? I have some doubts if I am honest. Also the killing of chum for their roe and throwing back the rest of the fish is a complete disgrace I have heard about happening often in the past. What can we do to prevent this sort of thing in the future? Do anglers not realize that roe is not the only way to catch salmon? Or could it be that they are being poached by boats in the ocean and exported? It's impossible to know but I would love to hear what you guys think about all this.
if you ain't fishin, you ain't livin

VictorBai

I have some confusions with the latest "No fishing for Chum salmon" fishery notice as well. How is this implemented? For example, if I go fishing in the Vedder river this weekend, I know there are Coho, Chinook and Chum in the river. How can I fish for the other species while not fishing for Chum? The setup I use could attract any of them. This doesn't really make sense to me.