Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Help on level-wind reels  (Read 4706 times)

huntwriter

• Othmar Vohringer Outdoors
Help on level-wind reels
« on: April 13, 2008, 08:30:16 AM »

I purchased a level-wind reel and find that I am having some difficulty casting with it. This is my first attempt at using a level-wind. As of this writing I am still practicing with it in my backyard. Any advice on casting techniques to avoid “birds nest” and backlashes would be greatly appreciated.
Or if anyone lives near Maple Ridge and would be willing to personally tutor me for an hour or so to get the basics down that would be very much appreciated too.

Thanks.
Othmar Vohringer - Smart Hunting Strategies (SHS)
http://www.othmarvohringer.com/

~IvAn~

• Old Timer
Re: Help on level-wind reels
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2008, 10:23:53 AM »

Set your tension nob so that the weight slowly drops to the ground. At first don't try to really swing it out there...give slow and light swings (start with side casts) until you get used to using your thumb on the spool. The main thing when using these kind of reel is thumb control, never let your thumb off the spool. 

Sam Salmon

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2008, 10:30:05 AM »

Good advice from Ivan and in the end unles you're using a really short rod side casts are most of what you'll be doing.

Don't be afraid to clamp down with your thumb at the end of a cast-and practise feathering the spool with your thumb during a casr as he says-that's what most people do.

Having a target on the ground to shoot at will help too.

huntwriter

« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2008, 11:27:29 AM »

Thank you for your advice. I own the reel for two days now and have been practicing in my backyard. As suggested by Sam Salmon I am using targets (sheets of newspaper) to aim at.