Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Sturgeon Fishing " should there be a season"  (Read 2881 times)

roeman

Sturgeon Fishing " should there be a season"
« on: February 29, 2008, 05:02:01 PM »

Just for the record I am not attacking those that are posting and those that are going out after sturgeon at this time of year..
But, should there no be some sort of season for these fish.  The water is extremely cold and there is little to no food these fish at this time of year.  Do they really need to be hassled 12 months of the year.  I fish sturgeon alot in late summer and fall, I am not saying it is better to catch and release fish at that time of the year, but with warmer water and tons of food I think the fish recover quicker than this time of the year. 
Personnaly I would like to see the sturgeon fishing shut down during the winter months.  I have no experience as far as fish recovery times, but cold water and little food kind of tells me at can't be a whole lot of fun for the fish. 
Are you fishin or catchin

DionJL

• Old Timer
Re: Sturgeon Fishing " should there be a season"
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2008, 06:21:01 PM »

can't be a whole lot of fun for the fish. 
Has fishing ever been a whole lot of fun for the fish? LOL

I do agree though. I think the river should be closed for sturgeon from Jan 1st - March 31st. Lots of guides park their boats over the big deep holes and fish them all day, but the fish are so lethargic they just end up sitting on the bait and when the angler sets the hook they end up snagging the fish.

yamadirt 426

« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2008, 09:19:33 PM »