Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Vedder Sat. October 1st Fun Trip  (Read 1955 times)

BwiBwi

• Old Timer
Vedder Sat. October 1st Fun Trip
« on: October 01, 2006, 02:36:39 AM »

Late start this morning to meet up with my buddy; we arrived on the river close to noon.  Since I’m new at coho fishing, I just follow him around and fish, first stop old Prison Camp.  I was just tying up my leader and his second cast..  FISH On. line zip through surface and a chrome spring leaped out shaking it’s head hard.  A nice person he is, he passed on his rod to me to fight the fish.  With his guidance got the fish to riverside, he tails it and released.  As it’s still early he said there is no point keeping the fish now.  Nice start looks like it’s going to be a good day.  Few casts later he’s into another fish and it’s another spring. This time it’s a lot bigger. After 10 mins the fish gave in, it’s reeled in and again released, this one is about 30lb. He moved down the run a bit to fish and I was into my first fish… a chum. It zipped downstream and after a few head shake… leader broke.  Bye bye fishy.

As I was retying, my buddy was into another fish.  It leaps a few times, and it’s COHO, it’s a biggie, looks to be over 10lb.  Unfortunately, it popped off.  In the next hour, it’s only chum after chum.  We decided to move further downstream.  Found a nice small run.  We started cast away.  SPRING ON.. Since it’s getting late I kept this one and it’s weighted (at home) at 23lb.  While I was busy playing my spring my buddy lost 2 more cohos.  I mock him this got to be his C&R day.  Well he had to prove me wrong.. our last few cast he was into another fish.. AND IT”S A COHO  This time he takes his time to play out the fish. It took him much more time to get this 9lb coho in than his 30lb spring early…   ;D
What a nice wrap up.  Well time to head home to heat up the oven.