Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: some spey questions  (Read 3759 times)

boscheefish

some spey questions
« on: September 06, 2008, 11:08:30 PM »

ok im pretty new at this spey thing, got a nice little 7 weight with a skagit and sink tips....... what im wondering is, with the skagit line, how do you replace the weight of the sink tips if i want to fish a dry fly, what is the norm? or personal prefence. or do i have to get a different set up for dry flies/and the spey?
long live the vedder

Jamison Jay

• shh....I'm hiding
Re: some spey questions
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2008, 08:13:02 AM »

although you can use a floating tip on the end of the skagit it doesn't roll out as pretty as a straight out dry line does. Depending on you line length preference a line like the Airflow delta can be nice and easy to toss. Really it's just preference, but keep in mind how far do you want to cast, how much line do you want to strip, and what size flies are you going to be chucking.

boscheefish

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2008, 11:17:15 AM »

well, the tight budget says i can only have one line for the time being so skagit it is,

so do i have to get those cheaters for the dry section, or do i have to make a chunk of floating line
long live the vedder

dennyman

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2008, 11:58:47 AM »

The strength of the skagit line is that it can throw the sinktips and heavy flies with ease. However, as you heard with an earlier reply to your post you may have to do some experimenting to get the right length of floating line to work with your skagit fly line. If it were me, I would take the line and rod into a shop like M &Y, or Reaction Fly and Tackle and see what the fellas can do for ya. Their hints and tips will save you plenty of time and grief,  which is invaluable especially for those of us who are getting into spey castiing.