Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Bait for Reds  (Read 6214 times)

younggun

• Old Timer
Re: Bait for Reds
« Reply #15 on: July 10, 2008, 11:47:12 AM »

full bodied roe, when u use straight natural its transparent, if died a natural orange colour then i has body, might be just a confidence booster but i like my roe like that.
Fish killer 101

JL

« Reply #16 on: July 11, 2008, 10:16:15 AM »

Big chunks of roe...I prefer mine dyed as red as possible

hue-nut

• Old Timer
« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2008, 09:34:08 PM »

Just to clarify, are we talking about red springs?

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #18 on: July 16, 2008, 11:21:25 PM »

Just to clarify, are we talking about red springs?

Yes

joska

• Old Timer
« Reply #19 on: July 17, 2008, 05:34:51 PM »

hey all well im new to the lower fraser let me say the whole fraser. I went to  brownsville last saturday and yesterday and well i was using roe and well it was all soft and mushy.. wouldnt say on for long... what do i gotta do to keep it on that hook...  cand were can i get some good roe..  and the tides... i get there and the tide is quite high ..  i go again and it low.. im lost when is it good and how do i know  well any tips that will help me hook in to one of these  hight talked  about prize would help   thanks all take it easy... Joe
If you don't like the fish you're catching... change the bait!!

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #20 on: July 17, 2008, 05:36:29 PM »

Try tying your roe into roe bags if it's mushy. You can buy some decent roe from Berry's

hue-nut

• Old Timer
« Reply #21 on: July 17, 2008, 07:23:16 PM »

I've also used a little bit of spider line (I think its called that), you just wrap it around your roe a few times and it helps secure it if your bait loop is not working too well.

Every Day

• Old Timer
« Reply #22 on: July 17, 2008, 10:34:05 PM »