Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fly Fishing in Merritt?  (Read 5578 times)

luckygirl

Fly Fishing in Merritt?
« on: June 21, 2006, 01:45:31 PM »

Anyone have some news on how the fishing is in the Merritt area? What is landing them?

Cheers

itosh

• I EAT llamas!
Re: Fly Fishing in Merritt?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2006, 10:07:09 PM »

You may want to scale down your query a bit by asking about lakes in certain areas?  "Merritt" can encompass a farily large area and as you may know, has hundreds of lakes in the area.  Also what type of fishing do you do?

I was in the Lac Le Jeune area on the weekend, and fishing was decent at best for me.  However, I am a newbie on interior lakes and the weather was rather unsettled (thats my excuse).

The weather looks to be stable and warm this weekend, so fishing should be good with lots of hatches going on, I think.

Shane

bigguy

• Old Timer
  • what?? You want me to GET OUT and go fishing?
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2006, 10:59:55 PM »

All the fishing has been bad on all of the hundred or so lakes in the Merritt area!  Probably best to stay in the lower mainland and cut your grass or fight the traffic.  I think the music fest has ruined the fishing! Too much noise and far too many people. The fish are shy! ;)

luckygirl

« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2006, 09:05:00 AM »

Too funny Bigguy..... I have only been to that event once years ago.... fish should be afraid...... the whole environment gets trashed.

I also think I will stick to my plan to go fishing, and buy a goat to take care of the yard.

I still haven't made up my mind which lake or what type of fishing I am going to do. I heard some friends where going to Nicola Lake, but I think I might try something else, and drag the boat and the belly and pack a few options.

McWhackit

• fishing is life, all else is details.
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2006, 05:43:25 AM »