Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: can a hatchery become a wild  (Read 10405 times)

fisher man

can a hatchery become a wild
« on: February 04, 2012, 09:25:44 PM »

If i'm a hatchery fish that survives and spawns do my fishlings become wild and is that the objective of the enhanchment projects. if so is it working as in are we getting more wild in the rivers ie; vedder

silver ghost

• Old Timer
Re: can a hatchery become a wild
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2012, 10:19:27 PM »

I'm no scientist but i'll give it my best shot.

Short form answer: yes and yes.

The progeny from the hatchery parents will be "wild" per se - as what defines wild fish is the presence of an adipose fin, which hatcheries clip off to make identifying them easier for anglers. But since the parents were hatchery, the new generation of "wild" fish aren't true "wild's" in my opinion.

The second part of your questions is a little more complicated....

The objective of enhancement programs is to "enhance". They provide retention opportunities for anglers while inflating the size of the run. Fish raised in a hatchery have a better chance of survival. Some might argue this. But they are fed until a certain size which allows them to hit the ground running so to speak. On the other hand, their wild cousins...out of say 100 5 will survive, but the hatchery brethren will have 20 out of 100 survive (just for illustrative purposes). So fewer wilds go out to sea than hatcheries, who by proxy have a