Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: First Boat  (Read 5614 times)

jpen828

First Boat
« on: September 09, 2014, 04:50:29 PM »

Hello All,

Long time looker, first time poster! I am looking at buying a relatively cheap used boat. Love to fish, and feel like a boat can take me to the next level. I am looking at older 14-16ft fiberglass, outboard boats. Can you offer any advice on what to look for in terms of a setup? Any tips and advice would be helpful. Also, what are the essentials to getting out there for salmon? Not looking for your secret spots or anything but I am a noob, and any tips would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

Humpy

Re: First Boat
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2014, 04:53:55 PM »

For the Fraser river I would recommend an aluminum boat.
Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.

Easywater

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2014, 05:56:33 PM »

This has come up many times before but I'll give you some tips from my experience.

BUY AN ALUMINUM BOAT

I've had 3 large boats (17 feet or bigger) - 2 fibreglass boats and 1 aluminum boat.
Both fibreglass boats experienced wood rot in the floors and/or transoms and it is very hard to diagnose unless you have some boat experience.

The floor issue not so much - you can walk around and feel the mushy floor but the transom is difficult to spot.
Both problems will require extensive repairs.

With aluminum boats, you can pretty much see if there are any issues with the hull or transom.
Plus, aluminum boats are much more durable in regular use - you can beach the boat without having to worry.

Get a mid-sized outboard - 70/80 HP - cheaper on gas.
Inboards are a huge pain and require regular maintenance like a car - oil changes and the like.

Deep-V boats are designed to battle waves in the ocean so not necessary on the Fraser.